討論香港”名校”老師教學

近日有機會與朋友討論香港”名校”老師教學、及課外對學生的態度。直接一點,有些所謂”名校”老師及教職員,一知道你是”成績差班”裡的學生時,他們狗眼看人低的心態便自然流露,令我為這些所謂”名校”學生及老師流淚。

“名校””成績差班”裡的學生從那時開始便不是人、不需愛護,從那時開始便不是學生,不需教導?孔子「有教無類」的原則,理應不需要由我這個門外漢來說教吧?!我也為這些所謂”名校”的老師及教職員流淚,因為我想人性本善,我想他們第一天教學在學校上班時,他們「有教無類」之心仍強,但不知過了多少日、月、年之後,他們「有教無類」之心才變成了「狗眼看人低」之心,我怎能不為這些老師及教職員流淚呢?

一間好的學校不只是、亦不應該只集中心血教最聰明五班之中頂一班的學生。好的學校應該盡能力將每一班的每一位學生的潛能盡力發展。好的學校應該將每一位學生,包括最差最差的一位學生,將他們與天上的星星等同愛惜對待,盡能力幫助他們得到良好的根基,可以學生的潛能盡力展現,可令這些天上的星星(學生)在畢業後可以發光發熱。

附筆: 我仍未有機會見到以下的人(其中一位已經過身),但我從他們身上學到了很多教學的理念和態度。

1) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geoffrey_Canada

Harlem is one of the worst area in America but Geoffrey had the insight and determination to create Harlem Children’s Zone and make it one of the best schools a lot of parents want to get in for their kids.

2) 在香港做得好的教職員有林浣心校長,(香港人現任英華小學校長、前協恩中學附屬小學校長)。

3) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frank_McCourt

Frank was, to me, a national treasure. There are still many video clips of Frank talking posted on YouTube. Watch and learn from the man. Frank’s http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teacher_Man is a book that should be a required reading of all teachers before they step into a classroom and have the potential to wreck the lives of unsuspecting school children! Listen to his audio book and realize how much of a gifted teacher Frank is and too bad we lost him!

———

From this 信報財經新聞 Facebook status

“兒子在band 1名校唸得不開心,你會幫他轉校「降band」,還是要死守這虛名? 嘉智中學黃校長便替他兒子作出這普通人覺得「不可思議」決定。

吳雄:牛津劍橋不一定最好

天下父母都希望給兒女最好的,黃校長也不例外。他四年前把兒子送進band 1英中名校,很快發現鋸牛扒、喝紅酒的日子不適合兒子,「他朝九晚五上十堂課,學校按成績分班,他分進第二班,高手如雲,很快就失去自信。」三年前他接任校長,兒子浩哲走進了自己開設的茶餐廳。「當時他插班讀中三,面試、筆試都沒按照程序,當我在教員室談到這位插班生,嚇了老師們一跳。」

浩哲習慣英文教學,來到茶餐廳要用中文,中文老師要給他補習,黃校長說話了:「我跟同事們說,我要的不只是讓你們教好我兒子,而是要大家把所有學生都當校長兒子那樣教。」名校重視精英學生,忽略成績差的同學,黃校長慨嘆:「他從前的老師沒想如何幫學生,而是想家裏如何幫學生。」誠然,學校的banding不同,教學文化和理念自然不同,沒有錯與對,只有適不適合。反正現在浩哲開朗了起來,「這裏的老師比較關心我們,之前的老師測驗不合格,就不會理我們,只能自己回家多溫習,這裏不合格會留堂,做回當天不會的題目,不會就請教老師。」

老實的兒子跟記者聊天,精靈的黃校長在旁邊跟同學搭訕,提醒同學別瀏覽不雅網站。他承認把兒子帶來學校,好處多得不得了,「如果有家長來投訴,我會說我也非常明白你們的心情,因為我自己也是家長,我也想教好兒子,大家必須同舟共濟。」說時還正經八百,話鋒一轉就調皮起來,「有一次我和老婆見家長,兩位同事尷尬得臉都紅了。」”

http://www.hkej.com/template/dailynews/jsp/detail.jsp?dnews_id=3634&cat_id=9&title_id=578314

4 Responses to 討論香港”名校”老師教學

  1. hevangel says:

    不記得那兒看過,孔子的學生,全部都是自我學習動機極強,(不論是想學仁義還是想做官),所以孔子才說有教無類,你肯學我肯教。

    問題是香港的學生,全無自我學習動機,老師才會說朽木不可雕也,索性放棄他們。

    • kempton says:

      So do you support the current 香港”名校” teaching system and wouldn’t mind seeing them go on forever?

      To me, your “全部” because it is historical, I can’t be sure but I guess you aren’t sure either. Whereas the current “全無” is a simplistic, and may I say “heartless”, simplification. All teachers who think and say stuff like “朽木不可雕也,索性放棄他們” should be automatically get fired. They should not be allowed to keep on hurting students. Of course, teachers have no control of students’ talent but it is the teachers’ responsibility to bring the best out of each and every students.

  2. hevangel says:

    It is pointless to pick on the use of simplistic terms “all of” or “none of”, you get what I mean. Even 孔子 turned away students who have bad character.

    Teachers are responsible to teach those who are willing to learn, no matter what the students’ level or talent. However, teachers have no responsibility forcing students to learn. If the students don’t want to learn, so be it, as long as they don’t distract other students who want to learn.

    • kempton says:

      Well 孔子 is a private tutor and can choose his own students. And he is one teacher. It seems to me you are using the argument you laid out to give excuses to ALL teachers in these “brandname” school to not teach the not so smart or distracting students.

      Anyway, I am glad you are not a teacher, and not a high school teacher in Canada. Because some of those “trouble kids” in HK turns out to be genius when taught under the well rounded and loving Canadian school system.

